infinix x yugatech

Chitika Spamming

Listen to article

I thought the email I got from Chitika last night was something really special. But then again I have this gut feeling they’re just spamming me…

Here’s a copy of the email:

Abe,

yugatech.com/blog is a great site! Proud to offer the industry’s first interactive ad unit, eMiniMalls, I feel we would really rock on this site. Adsense compatible with a huge 10% referral commission. Check us out today, www.chitika.com

Best Regards,
Karla Escolas
Chitika Sales Manager
www.chitika.com
Fax: 508.302.0793
Yahoo IM: karla.chitika

To Karla,

If you really thought my blog was that great, you should have known I am already a member of Chitika. I did post quite a number of entries about it here, here, here and here. A quick search for Chitika was just a click away.

And when you sent me this email, did you bother checking my email in your database because it’s the same email I used to sign up with you? You would have then figured out that I am still using eMiniMalls, although not on this blog.

That brought me to conclude that your email was purely spam. I won’t reply to that email but instead will post it here so we’ll see if you’re really reading my blog and prove me wrong.

Update: Ms. Escolas emailed me back disproving my ealier allegations that Chitika is spamming and I thanked her for clarifying that. I am still hesitant to use Chitika on this blog since a majority of my traffic is from Asia, which their campaign still does not support.

[tags]chitika, ads, eminimalls, adverts, spam, referral, commision[/tags]

Frequently Asked Questions

Why did the author think Chitika's email was spam?
The author was already a Chitika member, and the email was sent to the same address used for signup.
Did Chitika respond to the author's blog post?
Ms. Escolas emailed the author back, disproving the spam allegations.
Why is the author hesitant to use Chitika on this blog?
Most of the blog's traffic comes from Asia, which Chitika's campaign does not support.
React to this article:
Written by
Abe Olandres

Abe Olandres

Editor-in-chief

Abe is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of YugaTech with over 20 years of experience in the technology industry. He is one of the pioneers of blogging in the country and is considered by many as the Father of Tech Blogging in the Philippines.

View all posts by Abe Olandres →

4 Comments

MI
Miguel · 20 years ago

They do check your site for mentions. They reacted to my Chitika and PayPal story.


Reply
CA
carljohnson · 20 years ago

lol. Sadly Chitika didn’t accept my site.


Reply

Leave a Reply

Loading next article...