Google is expanding their social networking site Google+ so that more users will be in it but the new update will mostly benefit Gmail users.
Google started the connection between Gmail and Google+ already before but now it will be on by default. Yes, you might not use it but it is there. Starting this week, whenever you’re composing a new email, your Google+ connections will appear as suggested recipients even you haven’t exchanged email addresses yet.
If privacy is your concern, here is what Google informed Gmail users through their mandatory email announcement:
How it works with email addresses
Emailing Google+ connections works a bit differently to protect the privacy of email addresses. Your email address isn’t visible to your Google+ connections until you send them an email, and their email addresses are not visible to you until they respond.
Receiving email from people outside your circles
If you receive an email from someone outside your circles, it will be filtered into the Social category of the inbox (if enabled) and only after you respond or add them to your circles, can they start another conversation with you.
How to control who can contact you
You’re in control of whether people can reach you with a new setting in Gmail on the desktop.
It seems like Google is trying to sprinkle some professionalism to Google+. Perhaps a competition for LinkedIn?