Skip to content
May 05, 2009

Who owns AkoMismo.org?

There’s been some buzz about this new campaign called Ako Mismo which started out as a star-studded TV ad followed by a members-only website.

Nothing wrong with it really. A lot of forums and websites require people to sign up before allowing them to enter and see what’s inside. AkoMismo is also giving away a branded dog tag for members.

This is not uncoommon. Other sites also offer free stuff when you sign up. I used to moderate a forum back in 2001 that pays members a certain amount for every post they make.

One has to admit it’s a clever online marketing gimmick. What put the campaign under scrutiny was the socio-political angle and the secrecy of the organizers behind it.

I don’t think AkoMismo.org site is really that anonymous. Here are some public information about the site:

Domain Registrant: akomismo.org

Tribal DDB
McKinley, Taguig City
Philippines
tribalddbph@gmail.com
Created March 16, 2009

IP WhoIs: 125.5.116.82
INFOCOM Technologies Inc
3/F PLDT Tower I
6799 Ayala Avenue, Makati City
*****@vitro.epldt.net

Well, at least we know who owns the domain and the ad agency is Tribal DDB (they do digital marketing worldwide) and the server is hosted at the PLDT Vitro data center.

P.S. — About the privacy concern with the alleged Smart/PLDT’s data-mining of personal information, didn’t thousands of people already freely gave those details to Red Mobile/Smart in exchange for a free SIM before?

Written by yuga

Abe is the founder and publisher of YugaTech. You Can follow him on Twitter @abeolandres.

Follow me on Twitter or add me up on Facebook.


68 Responses to “Who owns AkoMismo.org?”

  1. Jhay says:

    Thanks for sharing some technical information about the site, what people are really interested in is who’s the real brains behind the site.

    And what his or their motives are?

    With elections looming so near, people can’t help but get a bit cautious.

  2. Reggie says:

    i don’t know if i understood it correctly, but i watched TV Patrol earlier and they say it was Manny Pangilinan who started the group. correct me if i’m wrong.

  3. Reggie says:

    i don’t know if i understood it correctly, but i watched TV Patrol earlier and they say it was Manny Pangilinan who started the group. correct me if i’m wrong.

  4. itpinoy
    Twitter:
    says:

    smart communications today denied they own this website, see more http://itpinoy.blogspot.com

  5. Lezuric says:

    i wonder how to get this DOG TAG. hmmp..
    coz, what ever the purpose,
    AKO MISMO, SISIMULAN KO ANG PAGIGING TOTOONG PILIPINO.

  6. shizuka says:

    is it safe to join such an org?

  7. Andre Marcelo-Tanner
    Twitter:
    says:

    A certain Aileen Dalisay, perhaps of Information Gateway, owns the Akomismo.com.ph/.ph Domains

  8. Go says:

    I joined AKO MISMO! man i love it! my comment was HINDI AKO BOBOTO DAHIL WALA NAMANG MATINONG PULITIKO!

    hihihi

  9. blued888 says:

    Andre Marcelo-Tanner: What’s being discussed AkoMismo.org, not the ones you’ve mentioned.

  10. [...] public affairs head of Smart Communications denies that they own the website. On the other hand, Yugatech’s investigation shows that akomismo.org is owned by Tribal DDB and that the server is hosted at PLDT. DDB is the [...]

  11. [...] public affairs head of Smart Communications denies that they own the website. On the other hand, Yugatech’s investigation shows that akomismo.org is owned by Tribal DDB and that the server is hosted at PLDT. DDB is the [...]

  12. Ongai says:

    just joined their site..and it really looks well funded – from the celebrities to the site. I really wonder where we could get the dog tags or did I miss that when I signed up? hehe

  13. [...] the IP address “125.5.116.82″, as pointed out in YugaTech, is owned by PLDT. This supports the theory that this is for a political campaign for Manny [...]

  14. mel says:

    AKOMISMO hindi magpapaloko

  15. Go says:

    it could really be a phishing site. why did I frigin sign up on something oh so mysterious!

    I already changed all the information I previously entered! No to phishing scammers!

  16. braindead says:

    anyone knows how to get the dog tag? hehe..

  17. Chris says:

    syempre ako mismo..si angel locsin ang tatapos..wahaha

  18. CCLozano says:

    With all the hype and personalities flashing the dog tag, it’ll get more people to sign up regardless of purpose or ownership…

  19. Aldrin Cabrera says:

    We still don’t know what its real purpose is so please don’t sign without thinking twice. Who knows, it might be building a list to sell to other web/mail advertisers looking for a Filipino crowd that fact that a private advertising agency owns the site.

  20. Agrimensor says:

    I changed my wifes information on the website except for one detail and that is the mobile number. It wont accept any new number no matter how legit it is. Seems to me they’re after this info.

  21. betlog says:

    pldt propaganda only!

  22. Leo says:

    akomismo = dogtag! nothing more.

  23. makoy says:

    baka pampapogi lang yan ng isang politiko or gagawing partylist para sa 2010.

  24. Unnamed says:

    Before I continue with my comment, kindly check this post about AkoMismo.org:

    http://greatergood.i.ph/blogs/greatergood/2009/05/05/is-akomismo-a-scam/

    Now, my two cents:

    SMART Communications are gathering personal information (particularly mobile numbers and addresses) for their upcoming marketing program — SMS Advertising.

    Apparently, a small local company that I know became a threat to SMART and Globe (although Globe hasn’t taken this new marketing path yet) when this small company started introducing a new innovation in Philippine marketing, and that is through SMS.

    Are we going to let SMART Communications make a BIG fool out of us? And how pathetic it is that these BIG players got threatened by a small and newly established company! It’s time that we STOP the BIG companies from monopolizing their industries. Our country, the Philippines, is the living proof of the saying: The rich becomes richer and the poor, well, becomes poorer.

  25. Unnamed says:

    Before I post my comment, read this post regarding AkoMismo.org:

    http://greatergood.i.ph/blogs/greatergood/2009/05/05/is-akomismo-a-scam/

    Now, my two cents:

    Your friend was right. SMART Communications are gathering personal information (particularly mobile numbers and addresses) for their upcoming marketing program — SMS Advertising.

    Apparently, a small local company that I know became a threat to SMART and Globe (although Globe hasn’t taken this new marketing path yet) when this small company started introducing a new innovation in Philippine marketing, and that is through SMS.

    Are we going to let SMART Communications make a BIG fool out of us? And how pathetic it is that these BIG players got threatened by a small and newly established company! It’s time that we STOP the BIG companies from monopolizing their industries. Our country, the Philippines, is the living proof of the saying: The rich becomes richer and the poor, well, becomes poorer.

Leave a Reply

*
*