YugaTech | Philippines, Technology News & Reviews

Philippines, Technology News & Reviews



A new breed of GMail Phishing Scams

I thought I have a really good eye for phishing scams but this one almost got me. Who wouldn’t be tempted with a free 100GB GMail upgrade?


The email is simple and sounds authentic:

Register your FREE domain name with Google today !

Gmail Team
Tue, Oct 16, 2007 at 2:17 AM
Reply-To: gmail-noreply@google.com
To: abeolandres@gmail.com
Reply | Reply to all | Forward | Print | Delete | Show original
Hello
Dear Gmail customer
From now if you need more than 2 GB of space use this invitation and upgrade your account to 100 GB of space also you can register one free domain name via this invitation
your account upgrade will done after 24 hours
your invitation code is : http://gmail-members.com/Gmail-Account-Upgrade/

Thank You
Gmail Support Department

Well, except for the obvious grammatical errors. I got curious and clicked on the link and the page is strikingly similar to the GMail login page.

Until I got this warning from Firefox:

Gmail Phishing Scams

*phew*

I ran this URL on IE7 and it displayed a warning page that it’s a phishing attack. However, the Flock browser didn’t notice anything wrong with it. The Flock team should really add this kind of feature into their browser.

Enter your email address:

Related Entries:


9 Responses to “A new breed of GMail Phishing Scams”


  1. Gravatar Icon Jon Limjap replied on Oct 16th, 2007 at 10:47 am (1)

    I’m surprised. The gmail-members.com domain should’ve been enough Abe. :)

  2. Gravatar Icon Eugene replied on Oct 16th, 2007 at 12:26 pm (2)

    @Jon, true. I seriously doubt that Google will ask you to enter your Google Account credentials elsewhere. Besides, I haven’t even filled up my 2.9 GB of GMail space. :)

  3. Gravatar Icon yuga replied on Oct 16th, 2007 at 1:59 pm (3)

    Ok, I confess. I just woke up that time. :D

  4. Gravatar Icon macboy replied on Oct 16th, 2007 at 4:14 pm (4)

    a lot of peeps getting scammed on these sites!!

    http://www.spymac.com/details/?2274282

  5. Gravatar Icon ConradMiguel | StudentBlogger replied on Oct 16th, 2007 at 5:55 pm (5)

    Sounds true.

    I agree that gmail-members.com is enough. Nice scheme, ;D.

    I can’t access the site now, probably suspended. ;D

  6. Gravatar Icon jhay
    Twitter: jhayrocas
    replied on Oct 16th, 2007 at 9:36 pm (6)

    The link was a dead giveaway. ;)

    Still, 100GB of Gmail is very tempting, what’s the current space right now? A little over 3GB? Woot!

  7. Gravatar Icon Jaypee
    Twitter: jaypee
    replied on Oct 17th, 2007 at 8:28 am (7)

    Good thing you had Firefox! Even if the URL was a giveaway, the scheme is really smart. I’m sure this email has fooled some Gmail users already. I’ve never received any Gmail phishing emails, what I got were PayPal phishing emails. :D

  8. Gravatar Icon Derf the replied on Dec 13th, 2007 at 8:35 am (8)

    Well how about this one

    “http://www2.gmail.net.au/mail/src/login.php”

    and where would I go to check?

    Please note this site looks nice and clean;
    I got to it from the best looking option (the 5th entry from the top) on the Google results page on an “extremely” clean Firefox install, so it wasn’t just results from a bad browsing record.
    {Worth mentioning just because it is so hilariously extreme:
    Just installed Xandros4.0 OCE on a fresh partition, looked for OO (not installed!), printed a .PS file I needed off another partition (XP had no .PS viewer native), plugged the network cable in, fired up Firefox and typed “gmail login” in the search box; now that is clean!}

Leave a Reply




hit counter