Breaking up with someone is never fun and the last thing we want to happen is to be reminded about it on Facebook when it pops up either through Memories or when someone tags you. This is why the company is rolling out a new feature that will hide your exes from your feed after a breakup.
This move is an attempt to help those who could possibly be going through difficult times. The company mentions that they want to “help people end relationships on Facebook with greater ease, comfort, and sense of control.”
Once you change your relationship status to show that you’re no longer in a relationship, Facebook will offer you to try out their tools so you could:
- See less of a former partner’s name and profile picture around Facebook without having to unfriend or block them. Their posts won’t show up in News Feed and their name won’t be suggested when people write a new message or tag friends in photos.
- Limit the photos, videos or status updates that a former partner will see.
- Edit who can see their past posts with a former partner and untag themselves from posts with that person.
This new feature is now available in the United States on mobile, and will roll out to different regions based on people’s feedback over time.