web analytics

Malware spreads via Facebook Email Notification

If you’re still reading your Facebook notification via email, then be more cautious in doing so. Because in recent times, there’s a malware on the loose pretending to be a photo notification.

Here’s a sample of that email. At a glance, it may seem a pretty harmless notification just telling you that some stranger has tagged you in photo. But take a closer look and its nifty disguise will be revealed.


If you still haven’t noticed it yet, you should really be wary of opening your Facebook email notification. The email came from [email protected], which has one more “O”. If you clicked on the link on the email, you’re pretty much “Dooomed” unless you’re antivirus is smart enough to get you out of the hole you made.

We’re not aware of up to what extent this malware infection will cause you, and we’re not interested to know. It pays to be cautious and we hope that you and your friends won’t be fooled by this malware. Please spread the word.


This article was written by Ronnie Bulaong, a special features contributor and correspondent for YugaTech. Follow him on Twitter @turonbulaong.

You may also like...

5 Responses

  1. JM says:

    Well, maybe I’m one of those few people who are interested on what can this malware can do. Or atleast are there any symptoms that you’ve been infected?

    • Turonbulaong says:

      I’m sorry but up to now even our sources doesn’t know what this malware can cause to your computer and what are the symptoms that shows that you’re infected. For now, let this serve as a warning and if we did get a word about it, we’re sure to post it here.

  2. I also didn’t notice the extra “o” in Facebook. Clever :)

  3. ronald says:

    thanks. I was not able to see it til you pointed it out.

  4. RaGe says:

    Facebook sends email notification thru facebookmail.com…if your email provider has a good spam filter this should not be in your Inbox =\ pero still maganda na rin ang maingat :D

Leave a Reply


%d bloggers like this: