I think Scoble may have revelead this earlier in the month and called it “anti-marketing design“. Dozens of other bloggers picked up the story — Darren thinks ugly sites convert better but Rustybrick of seroundtable.com brings it down to the huge volume of organic traffic.
We’re talking about the online dating site PlentyofFish.com by Markus Frind of Canada. What caught people’s attention was the fact that the website earns a cool $10,000 per day from Adsense alone. Exactly, PoF is the 3rd largest dating website in the world and ranges in the 10 Million pageviews per day. Practically the No. 1 Adsense publisher of Canada.
I can only wish for $10k/month. But $10K per day? Dang! (see graphical stats)
Another interesting part of it is that PlentyofFish.com only runs on a total of 4 serverswith an aggregate bandwidth of 70 to 130 Mbps. A quick visit to the site will reveal that there are around 12 thousand to 15 thousand people concurrently online.
Going back to the “ugly” pitch, I don’t think thesite earns that much just because it’s ugly. It can have a great design and still earn the same or maybe even more.
Remeber my PMR computation here? Why don’t we apply the same formula:
PMR = {10,000,000 pageviews per day} x {1% CTR} x {$0.50 CPC} x {20% rev share} x {30 days/month}
PMR = $10,000 x 30 days
PMR = $300,000
I actually tweaked the % CTR and CPC in order to get the desired output. A 1% CTR and $0.50 CPC is already conservative.
Even if you just apply a $1 CPM in there, that’s still potentially $10,000 too.
See, traffic really counts.


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