web analytics

Facebook Messenger warns users of scammers




Facebook Messenger reminds the public about scammers.

As seen on its page today, the messaging app from the social media network has added another notification that asks the user’s permission on who can message or call them directly. The new feature sends an alert to the user regardless if the person is their friend or not on Facebook.

The app warns them to be careful about accepting messages from strangers since online scams usually begin from a random message. It also reminds the users to be careful about money claims and never transact payments on someone they don’t personally know.

Users have the option to grant or deny the messaging request.

Apart from this, Facebook has recently introduced the App Lock feature which permits the use of fingerprint or face recognition to unlock the Messenger app. The feature is currently available on iPhones and iPad and will be coming to Android in the next few months.

Facebook is currently working on new security and privacy features to add in Messenger. These include controls on who goes to the user’s requests folder, who can’t message or call you at all, and blurring of images in your message requests folder.



Jewel is a Multimedia Producer for YugaTech. She's a writer by day and a cinephile by night.

You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. Jc says:

    Except friends are getting these messages about each other. Long term, met irl friends. Yes, we people about everything, including jobs, finances, house buying, charity work (including raising money), and price comparisons (especially between friends across borders). Yet, we’ve received this message (and a friend received one about me). Your algorithm is off.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Open

Close