Google Drive to delete trash files starting October 13
Google gives a heads-up to its G Suite users about the Trash Items that will be automatically deleted on Google Drive.
Google has been doing changes with its retention policies for the items in the Trash in Google Drive. With its new policy, all files which were previously put into Trash will be automatically deleted after 30 days. The change aligns with other policies on Google Services, making it consistent and predictable for users across G Suite products.
Previously, trashed items would be retained not until deleted permanently or emptied by the user.
Aside from this, G Suite has also mentioned about additional details of policy changes which are as follows:
- Admins can still restore items deleted from a user’s trash for up to 25 days for active users.
- Retention policies set by admins in Google Vault are not affected by this change unless they become obsolete as they are now redundant.
- These changes affect items that are trashed from any device and any platform.
- Files deleted via Drive File Stream will be purged from the system trash after 30 days. There is no impact on Backup and Sync behavior.
- Files in shared drives trash are already automatically deleted after 30 days.
- Items in the trash will still continue to consume quota.
Moreover, the company will also show a banner to users with details of the change as the policy takes effect. Google will also show in-app notifications in Google Drive. This applies to all G Suite customers.
The new policy will start on October 13, 2020.
Source: Google Blog