When I wrote about noypiTunes which Christian reviewed on his blog KissNewMedia, I shared the same opinion about the similarities and the subtle use of iTunes in the wording. I didn’t realize the site/service was being operated by Chikka until Chris pointed out to me a comment they left on his blog:
Dear KissNewMedia,
Be careful of what you’re writing. NOYPITUNES is far from the brand iTunes. Noypi is slang for Pinoy. It’s like saying pinoytunes. iTunes sells mp3 and NOYPITUNES sells ringtones for Pinoys/Filipinos. As for the record, NOYPITUNES is a registered brand in the U.S. and they passed all the legal requirements.
First, Apple’s iTunes Store are not selling mp3s. They are selling licensed TV shows, movies and songs in digital format, specifically in protected AAC file format.
Second, if noypiTunes was targeted towards mobile phone users, then it should have been noypiTones, referring to ringtones which is what they’re actually selling. So, one cannot avoid the idea that the use of Tunes instead of Tones was largely influenced by iTunes and not because they’re selling ring tones. Just look at their logo. (Note: although noypiTones.com is already taken, it was only registered Dec. 28, 2006 while noypiTunes was registered Sept. 15, 2006.)
And lastly, the tone of the comment smells like a threat. Yeah, I think it sounds like a threat. C’mon guys, can’t take a public opinion?



























Abe,
Tone alone is enough. That’s really bad PR.
- Bulletproofvest
Maybe because they’re already paranoid of a lawsuit from Apple over their unintentional use of the iTunes brand. Even if they give out that explanation every time someone asks, the logo they use is just a dead give away.
I think they sound stupid, that’s my opinion. hahaha
This shows the power of blogs if it will flex its muscle. Business people are getting paranoid where there is not actual threat at all.
Apparently they can’t. Hilarious.
Thanks for the support guys. Just so you know, I found out that the guy “Mark” works for Chikka through his IP. Thanks to Wordpress. He also left his email address as mark@apple.com.
Chikka should have serparately colored “Noypi” and “Tunes” with another colour. So they wont be suspected of ripping off the iTunes name.
Just a confusion among words. Am sure things will work out well…
Good Luck!
Your right Abe! Tunes?Tones!
how about astigg.com isn’t it like digg.com
issai: That site uses pligg. I don’t think there are any issues with the domain. Maybe with the technology, but that’s pligg’s issue.
I think they want to get some money from us….
The color scheme of Astigg buttons sure looks like Digg’s. I think this is a bit more blatant than NopiTunes.
Business people, especially traditional ones, will always be afraid of stuff they don’t understand. Instead of embracing new media, they will end up getting left behind by the competition.
shut up you americans!
not that chikka only do threats. there are rumors that they are also disclosing IP address of other chikka users as a favor for friends. isn’t that grand giving away the privacy of their clients. so unprofessional.