YugaTech | Philippines, Technology News & Reviews

Philippines, Technology News & Reviews



New Freindster Phishing Site Uncovered

A reader emails in and points to a new site he accidentally stumbled while mis-typing Freindster instead of Friendster (a popular social networking site in the Philippines, Malaysia and Indonesia).

As shown in the screen shot below, the website looks like the real thing.

Freindster

Phishing sites are used to illegally obtain sensitive or personal details such as usernames, passwords and credit card details. Most common sites being faked are eBay, Paypal, and online banking sites.

With 10.7 million Filipinos (from just over 5 Million two years ago) using Friendster worldwide, it’s not a surprise Friendster is also becoming a target of phishing scams. And in this case, the phishing site is most probably harvesting fresh email accounts.

friendster anime layouts
emo friendster layouts
cute friendster layouts
friendster love layouts
friendster
friendster layout generator
friendster graphics
friendster music

Enter your email address:

Related Entries:

Tags:, , ,

27 Responses to “New Freindster Phishing Site Uncovered”


  1. Gravatar Icon noemi replied on Jan 29th, 2008 at 8:29 am (1)

    the domain registrar is enom. I reported the domain as phishing site . Hope they act on it.

  2. Gravatar Icon macdonalds replied on Jan 29th, 2008 at 9:22 am (2)

    McBilly reported about the same thing way back last year. It’s nothing new, hundreds of fake friendster websites are born everyday. The key is to protect yourself from these fake sites.

    http://www.mcbilly.com/ramblings/fake-friendster-phishing-website-what-the-hell-is-the-point/

  3. Gravatar Icon quezacolt replied on Jan 29th, 2008 at 9:32 am (3)

    nyaks, nakakatakot hehehehe

  4. Gravatar Icon jamie replied on Jan 29th, 2008 at 10:11 am (4)

    HOLY CRAP!!! that is scary. let me test it with a spare email and see what happens.

  5. Gravatar Icon jamie replied on Jan 29th, 2008 at 10:24 am (5)

    when i put an incorrect email and a fake password sa login, it just led me to a page with PX1 written on it.

    and the people on the front page are real people!!

    and when you view the page source, there is an email address:

    jarangdibelai@yahoo.co.id

  6. Gravatar Icon jamie replied on Jan 29th, 2008 at 10:28 am (6)

    this is the moron who wants your personal information.

    http://profiles.friendster.com/8354501

  7. Gravatar Icon Carl replied on Jan 29th, 2008 at 11:32 am (7)

    We can’t be sure about that. It’s easy to make a fake email or a fake profile just for the sole purpose of phishing.

  8. Gravatar Icon asdix replied on Jan 29th, 2008 at 1:54 pm (8)

    grabe ah.. eheh
    galing ng mga yan..
    nakakatakot nga lang.. i mean, what if paypal or some bank site ma mistype mo.. tsktsktsk..

  9. Gravatar Icon jamie replied on Jan 29th, 2008 at 2:34 pm (9)

    @Carl – it still has to be reported though. kawawa naman yung mga taong nasa front page ng fake site na yun.

  10. Gravatar Icon Lhurey replied on Jan 29th, 2008 at 3:38 pm (10)

    there are some like this known as paypal spoof emails..

  11. Gravatar Icon ChrisMo replied on Jan 29th, 2008 at 3:56 pm (11)

    There are several phishing sites on the prowl even fake reports from you’re bank. Just make sure you check the URL on the address bar and when in doubt, retype the complete url completely…

  12. Gravatar Icon iPhone-Codes.com replied on Jan 29th, 2008 at 4:37 pm (12)

    The easiest way to find out if the site is a phishing site is to check on the URL address. If you given a link, hover your mouse on the link and you will see the url of the destination website.

    Using common sense and basis steps will surely free us from phishers. :)

    Admin
    http://www.iphone-codes.com
    “Iphone codes, secrets, tips, upgrades”

  13. Gravatar Icon Maruel replied on Jan 29th, 2008 at 8:28 pm (13)

    Nakakatakot naman ‘to, makagawa rin nga ng post tungkol dito para naman malaman ng mga kamaganak, kaibigan at lahat ng kafriendster ko ang tungkol dito saka maireport nga rin yung site…

  14. Gravatar Icon LiNTEK replied on Jan 30th, 2008 at 7:39 am (14)

    tsk tsk tsk tsk……. ingat….

  15. Gravatar Icon Joenel Umal replied on Feb 19th, 2008 at 4:48 am (15)

    delikado.. imagine lahat ng contact mo over 300 mawawala tapos invite mo na naman sila manually.. just a thought.. does friendster backup friends so i don’t have to invite them again in case my account gets hacked?

    be careful friends…
    http://www.joenelumal.com/blogging/friendster-fishing-fake-friendster-login/

  16. Gravatar Icon Kenneth Buenaventura replied on Mar 22nd, 2008 at 7:43 pm (16)

    Eow

  17. Gravatar Icon grace replied on Aug 14th, 2008 at 9:11 am (17)

    hi to all musta na kyo jan?

  18. Gravatar Icon josh replied on Sep 8th, 2008 at 9:09 pm (18)

    hi”din ahm cn i see ur freindster plss

  19. Gravatar Icon Myro replied on Jan 18th, 2009 at 12:18 pm (19)

    no comment

  20. Gravatar Icon jerry replied on Feb 2nd, 2009 at 10:18 pm (20)

    honesty is the best

  21. Gravatar Icon michael replied on Mar 27th, 2009 at 12:03 pm (21)

  22. Gravatar Icon Quincy replied on May 5th, 2009 at 6:06 am (22)

    I dunno if this is a redirector to a phishing site (since i wouldn’t know how to check anyway), but i received this dubious friendster message:

    “Hi,ask k lang po kung gusto mo ng free cellphone?Yup may free cellphone na d2 sa profile natin and i found out 100% true talaga!Tuturo ko sayo kung paano makukuha yung free unit.Eto yung main website nila sa ibaba: (with said link…)
    http://profiles.friendster.com/67445920

    When i check it out, it bounces from the profile, to a nokia screen showing a promo to win a supposed cellphone, then a few seconds later, gets redirected to another site that just sits blank.

    can someone check it out? thanks.

  23. Gravatar Icon Arnjo Belgica replied on May 12th, 2009 at 1:43 pm (23)

    Ngek! Gnunba?… Di s ngay0n pla, tlgang ndi na pweding itago ang mga pers0nal n4matn ng isang tao n0h?!… Nkakatk0t na pla tlga ngay0n!!!. . . Khit nga mga site ngay0n eh ang dli ng ma hack!…

  24. Gravatar Icon zero cool replied on Jun 13th, 2009 at 2:49 am (24)

    Hackers are cOoL all of u are dumb!

  25. Gravatar Icon EMMALEE replied on Nov 18th, 2009 at 6:59 pm (25)

    HAHAHAHA
    HAHAHAHAH
    HAHAHAHAH
    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
    HAHAHAHA

  26. Gravatar Icon Khalil replied on Jan 28th, 2010 at 4:57 am (26)

    nice baby

Leave a Reply




hit counter