Zoom has recently rolled out new security enhancements on video calls for its users.
The new security features include the Suspend Participant Activities and Report by Participants options to remove and report disruptive meeting participants in the platform.
Located under the Security icon, hosts and co-hosts now have the option to pause the meeting and remove a disruptive participant. By clicking “Suspend Participant Activities,” all video, audio, in-meeting chat, annotation, screen sharing, and recording will be stopped during that time, and Breakout Rooms will also be ended.
The hosts or co-host will also be asked whether they would like to report a user from their meeting, share any details, and optionally include a screenshot. After clicking “Submit,” the reported user will be removed from the meeting, and Zoom’s Trust & Safety team will be notified. Hosts and co-hosts may resume their meeting by individually re-enabling the features they would like to use. The platform will also send them an email after the meeting to get more information. This feature is enabled by default for all free and paid Zoom users.
On the other hand, meeting participants can also directly report a disruptive user from the Zoom client by clicking the top-left Security badge. Account owners and admins can enable this feature for non-hosts via web settings.
These new features are available on the Zoom desktop clients for Mac, PC, Linux, and our mobile app. Support for the web client and VDI is expected to arrive later this year.
Meanwhile, Zoom also utilized an At-Risk Meeting Notifier to scan public social media posts and other websites for publicly shared Zoom Meeting links. If the tool detects a meeting that looks to be at high risk of being disrupted, it will automatically alert the account owner through email and provides information on what to do. The steps could include deleting the unsafe meeting, creating a new one with a new meeting ID, enabling security settings, or using another Zoom options such as Zoom Video Webinars or OnZoom.
The video conferencing platform also encourages users never to share meeting ID or passcode on any public forum and social media.