web analytics

Blackberry Curve 8520 Review

+1
0
+1
0
+1
0
+1
0
+1
0
+1
0

Research In Motion (RIM) has been targeting the entry-level market for some time now but it wasn’t very evident until they released another qwerty smartphone, the Blackberry Curve 8520.

Like most other Blackberry phones, the Curve 8520 gets a stylish glossy finish and a sleeker look. It’s a bit smaller than the previous full qwerty Blackberry handsets but is still comfortable to use.

RIM ditched the usual trackball and replaced it with a touch sensitive optical track pad instead. The trackpad is really nice and comfortable to use but sometimes I find it cumbersome especially when scrolling over really long web pages or list of messages.

Blackberry Curve • Blackberry Curve 8520 Review
The individual keys on the qwerty keypad are a bit small but since they’re raised higher, typing becomes easier over time.

The phone sports a 2.64 inch display with a resolution of 320×240 pixels. The screen has a nice bright and crisp display despite the relatively small size. There is a 2-megapixel camera (1600×1200 pixel resolution) that’s optimized for taking videos.

Realme Philippines

Bb Curve • Blackberry Curve 8520 Review

As for connectivity, the Curve 8520 has WiFi 802.11b/g and Bluetooth 2.0 with A2DP. It only has EDGE instead of 3G so it’s a little slower connecting to wireless data networks. However, RIM’s proprietary data compression technology enables faster data transfer over GPRS or EDGE. Despite that compression technology they always brag about (and I’ve noticed it really works), there are lots of instances you’d wish you had 3G (audio/video streaming, tethering to a laptop, etc.) with it.

Internal storage is only 256MB but that can be extended up to 32GB using an external microSD card (card sold separately). The handset runs on Blackberry OS powered by 512MHz processor and that’s already a capable device for its category. The Li-Ion battery is rate at 1150mAh and battery life is pretty decent at over 2 days of regular use.

Bbcurve 8520 • Blackberry Curve 8520 Review

RIM is also shaping the Curve 8520 as an entry-level multimedia phone by adding dedicated music keys and a 3.5mm audio jack so you can use just about any headphones with it. Playback is great with nice sound quality when playing music or videos.

The Blackberry Curve 8520 only comes in glossy black while pricing is dependent on partner telcos offering Blackberry plans. We have yet to see which BB plans they’ll offer it with.

Side note: if you’re interested on getting a Blackberry for a phone, having a postpaid Blackberry Plan to go with it maximizes its potential esp. with push messaging. Otherwise, the difference between other similar qwerty phones (like the Samsung Blackjack, Nokia E63) isn’t that much.

Avatar for Abe Olandres

Abe is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of YugaTech. You Can follow him on Twitter @abeolandres.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
287 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Deux
10 years ago

I just want to ask if which do you prefer? a blackberry 8520? or a samsung galaxy Y? thanks

Deux
10 years ago

I just want to ask if whic do you prefer? a blackberry 8520? or a samsung galaxy Y? thanks

tristan
tristan
10 years ago

hi i just wanna inquire about the blackberry 8520 i red some reviews it’s a nice phone so yeah i just wanna ask how much is it on dec 26? because i am planing to get one

Rheba Vernon
10 years ago

I have a weird desire now to generate a false blog. Exactly what is a good web log to get this done and tell your friends that its not really my thoughts but of my characters thoughts?.

born2ruleyourworld
born2ruleyourworld
10 years ago

for “amheemoi” you have to turn off the password of you router and for “Dale” you have to pay atleast 2 years for your plan……

amheemoi
amheemoi
10 years ago

hi, i need help… can’t access to the internet using my blackberry curve though its a wi-fi area here in the house. i know the password in the router but every time i tried to connect using my phone, it says.. i need to enter the code from my blackberry phone… BUT I DON’T KNOW WHERE AM I GOING TO CLICK IN THE ROUTER AND ENTER THE CODE…

please help…

jerkz
jerkz
10 years ago

the BB is good esp. if you’re on the data plan mode for any of the telecos we have here…

Dale
Dale
10 years ago

anybody know how many months will you pay 999 with blackberry curve 8520 in globe?

cloyds
cloyds
Reply to  Dale
10 years ago

2 years….

toff
toff
11 years ago

hi good day., im planning to buy a black berry curve later this june., i have some questions

pde ba 2 s smart na prepaid?
can i easily connect to wifi?
how’s the camera? is it good or bad?
(coz my gilrfriend likes to take pictures.,)
can i download apps from pc and transfer it to my unit?

thanks for answers.,

chinodavis19
chinodavis19
11 years ago

i dunno what is my BB pin and how to use it… help me please?

Chel
Chel
11 years ago

I have a problem with the battery life of my BB. I always charge it (yes, everyday for 2-3hours) but I only got to use it for 6-8 hours only. I already changed the battery from the store where I bought my BB. At first, it was okay but after months that’s what already happened. Can someone help me?

Saddhim
11 years ago

I don’t know if it’s just my unit but I’ve been having problems with my blackberry unit.
1. Instant Messaging is not working… I was told I need to register at globe.blackberry.com but even that site could not detect my unit.
2. I could not download applications directly from my unit. It says something like… “its not supported by your something” I forgot what it says.
3. It keeps logging me out from Facebook. I need to log in like every 2 mins.
4. and there’s that annoying timer that keeps on appearing whenever I browse the internet and it doesn’t disappear until you remove your battery.

Can someone help me pls? Thank you.

harris
11 years ago

Blackberry is really cool but it is much cooler when blackberry is associated with IPAD… try this one buddies Balckberry Curve and IPAD before you run out of time.. =))

http://www.jobsdb.com.ph/PH/EN/StaticContentFullContainer/PromoJDB/index.html

celia
celia
11 years ago

hnd magamit ang wifi bb ko paano ba ito maiaayos

yen
yen
11 years ago

I’ve never tried using my BB with wifi.

How does it work? What settings should I have? And will ubertwitter or twitter for bb work with wifi?

Also, who among you guys have used supersurf with globe? What’s the difference with registering for BB svcs?

Thanks!

Harley
Harley
11 years ago

@allan, you have to check with your network provider to avoid ballooning of your bills, that is if you’re a postpaid which recently happened to me!

in lieu of my post regarding the APN of BBs, this is just a reminder to all globe subscribers may it be prepaid or postpaid. APN SHOULD ALWAYS BE blackberry.net

kasi if you use the regular APNs for postpaid and prepaid, you will be charged when you access to all the apps when you with or without BIS. my twitter works without BIS on the regular APN but was charged per KB for postpaid, and 5 pesos per update if you are a prepaid. tried already this and I did a report to globe. still it works and I think it would also works to all!

enjoy! peace!

1 12 13 14
287
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x