web analytics

25 of the Most-Read Reviews on YugaTech for 2019




And just like that, 2019 is almost over. And like you, we’re excited to see what 2020 has in store for us especially in the world of gadgets. But before we do that, let’s take a look at the most-read reviews on YugaTech in 2019.

Author’s note: The reviews listed below are those published in 2019. The list is arranged by pageviews from highest to lowest.

1) Huawei Y6 Pro 2019 – 211,840 PV

The Huawei Y6 Pro 2019 is aimed at budget-conscious customers who are looking for a good-looking phone with a large display, decent performance, good cameras, long battery life, and Android Pie. At PHP 6,990, it’s reasonably priced and can compete with other smartphones in the same class. And given the number of page views it received, we can say that it’s one of the most popular budget smartphones in the market.

2) Huawei Y7 Pro 2019 – 78,643 PV

The Huawei Y7 Pro 2019 is a mixture of good and bad components. The display is bright and vibrant, but it’s still at 720p resolution. The performance is decent and relatively fast thanks to its Snapdragon 450 chipset and 3GB RAM. The camera, on the other hand, is a roller coaster ride as the overall rear photos are sub-par to par only while the front camera is decent and good. Lastly, its battery life is impressive since it lasts longer than most competing smartphones in this price segment.

3) Samsung Galaxy A20 – 74,122 PV

The Samsung Galaxy A20 is a capable entry-level smartphone overall. It has a large display with decent performance, large RAM, great cameras, long battery life, and it also comes with a USB Type-C port with fast charging technology. In the end, I don’t like its fingerprint and smudge magnet design and HD+ resolution. It also has a weird fingerprint unlocking when the display is turned off, but, if you don’t mind these cons, then you can opt for this phone.

4) Huawei Nova 5T – 70,097 PV

The Nova 5T has an attractive and premium design, nice display, good cameras, decent battery life, and excellent performance. If you’re coming from the Nova 3, there’s still plenty of reasons to upgrade to this phone. So, if you’re looking for a flagship-grade Huawei smartphone but don’t have the budget for the P30 Pro, this is the one to get.

5) OPPO F11 – 56,393 PV

Given that the OPPO F11 almost has the same specs as the F11 Pro, I’d say that I prefer this device over its Pro sibling, especially if I have a limited budget. They both sport the same good viewing experience, performance, camera quality, and battery life. I still have reservations, however, due to its micro USB port, as well as, its inability to produce 4K videos given its camera set up. There are still rooms for improvements, but for now, it’s a pretty decent device to consider if you’re looking for a premium mid-range smartphone.

6) Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro – 54,767 PV

The Redmi Note 8 Pro offers an overall robust smartphone with great camera hardware and a modest IPS display. The device’s chipset might be slightly controversial, but the 6GB of RAM and 64GB of storage can offer smooth and lag-free performance. Not to mention, the large battery capacity. At this point, it’s already a significant upgrade if you’re coming from the Redmi Note 7 Pro. And given the official SRP, the Redmi Note 8 Pro is definitely one of the best value smartphones on the market.

7) Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 – 47,383 PV

The Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 is an enticing offering note solely because of the specs but because of the price. If you’re buying from China, you can get it starting at just CNY 999 or under PHP 8K for the 3GB + 32GB model. Then there’s the 4GB + 64GB for CNY 1,199 or under PHP 10K, and the top-of-the-line 6GB + 64GB model at CNY 1,399 or under PHP 11K.

8) Realme 3 – 44,921 PV

You see, ever since we got our hands-on with the Realme 2 Pro last year, we knew right then that Realme is going to be a game-changer. It happened with their almost always sold-out Realme C1, and we’re assuming that the Realme 3 is also leaning towards that direction. If you’re going to set aside its HD display, you’re getting one solid device that’s rocking a power-efficient chipset, Android Pie out of the box, and a good set of cameras for a helluva affordable price. To our relief, we are glad to see that there is a brand other than Xiaomi that produces competitive phones at an affordable price.

9) Cherry Mobile Flare S8 – 37,727 PV

The Cherry Mobile Flare S8 is pretty much a good deal given that you have a large screen size, RAM, and storage capacity. The overall performance is not bad, as well, but you’ll also notice that there will be input delays when multitasking or just merely navigating throughout the device.

10) OPPO A5s – 36,103 PV

The OPPO A5s delivers a sizeable screen, pretty great battery life, expandable storage, and a decent enough performance. A couple of downsides though are that the display is only HD+, it’s still running Android 8.1 Oreo, and that the photo quality could be a bit better.

11) OPPO A9 2020 – 32,957 PV

The OPPO A9 2020 is a good mid-range device that has a large display, decent performance, large RAM and storage, good cameras, and long battery life. This device is a good attempt of competing in this price range especially if it goes toe-to-toe with the VIVO S1. Your only problem here is that with this price range, this phone entered a dangerous weight class because Xiaomi’s Mi 9T Pro and Huawei’s Nova 5T are just sitting there and both of them already have flagship-level performances.

12) Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro – 32,828 PV

Just like with our experience with the K20 Pro, we were satisfied with the Mi 9T Pro’s design, performance, display, cameras, and battery. It’s even better now since it has a Global ROM with Google Play services, is officially available in the Philippines, so there’s a local warranty, is now available in four colors, and still affordable. This phone is definitely one of the best-bang-for-the-buck devices in the market.

13) Huawei P30 Pro – 31,874 PV


Huawei is trying really hard to impress and impressed us it did. The P30 Pro exceeded our expectations and then some. It’s huge in almost every aspect — display, performance, camera, battery and charging technology. If we had to nitpick, and that’s pushing it already, we can only think of the screen resolution to have been bumped to 2k at the very least. But that’s just it — we’re nitpicking.

14) Redmi K20 Pro – 26,597 PV

While the Redmi K20 Pro is not officially the Pocophone F1’s successor, it has everything it takes to be it. It’s not as cheap as the F1, but it checks all the boxes that made the F1 so great last year, plus more. With everything you get — the S-tier performance, the cameras, the display, design, battery — it’s shockingly affordable.

15) OPPO F11 Pro – 24,111 PV

Considering all these highs and lows, let me start by saying that the F11 Pro doesn’t look cheap at all, believe me, it looks even better in person. You get an awesome edge-to-edge display, good battery, great cameras for photography, smooth security, and a balanced performing phone that can handle most of what you throw at it.

16) Huawei Mate 30 Pro – 23,222 PV

The Huawei Mate 30 Pro is one heck of a smartphone. The gargantuan feat in the photo and video department alone makes it an impressive flagship device. Couple that with a beautiful design, impressive performance, great display, and battery life, then you would not think of even ask for more. With the setback of the Google Play Store, it still remains whether Huawei can surpass this obstacle and the Mate 30 Pro will certainly be the litmus test.

17) Xiaomi Mi 9 – 22,410 PV

The Xiaomi Mi 9 is a remarkable flagship device. Physically, it may not have any novelties in its design, but the Mi 9 still gives off that elegant and premium feel. With regards to its internals, its Snapdragon 855 processor renders the Mi 9 more than capable of giving a top-caliber performance at half the price of its more expensive flagship peers from other brands. It may have some caveats — poor audio speaker quality, no 3.5mm headphone jack, no IP rating — but the cameras, display, and storage are also enticing enough to consider this device.

18) Huawei P30 Lite – 21,842 PV

While the P30 Lite is pretty much just the Huawei Nova 4e under a different name, it’s still worthy of being tagged as the affordable device under the P30 lineup. The device has an excellent design and quite a decent performance. If you aren’t seriously into smartphone photography but still want something that offers quality photos, you might want to take a look at this device.

19) Realme 5 Pro – 20,354 PV

This device is one of the most affordable Snapdragon 712-powered smartphones in the market. Those upgrading from the Realme 3 Pro will like the improved cameras, revamped design, larger RAM, faster storage, and USB Type-C. The performance may not have improved that much, but the Realme 5 Pro is still a strong successor and a strong candidate for those looking for a capable yet budget-friendly mid-range smartphone.

20) Huawei Y9 Prime 2019 – 19,989 PV

The sizeable, unobstructed display is the Y9 Prime 2019’s most significant selling point. Apart from that, you also get a great battery life, an attractive-looking smartphone, EMUI 9, and a modest performance. If that’s all you’re looking for, then definitely snag the Y9 Prime 2019. Although, if you’re looking for a phone with better selfie qualities, more power for gaming, better biometrics options, or a device with a lesser price tag, you might want to reconsider purchasing the Y9 Prime 2019 and check out other devices instead.

21) Realme XT – 19,660 PV

After spending some time with the Realme XT, we’re starting to see it as the upgraded version of the Realme 5 Pro. If you’re wondering which one to get, well, that depends on your budget. And for that price, you’re getting a nice Super AMOLED screen, Gorilla Glass 5, an in-display fingerprint scanner, a 64MP main rear camera, and a longer battery life. If you don’t need those features, the Realme 5 Pro will suit you just fine. But if you can stretch the budget, go for the Realme XT. It’s the best Realme smartphone you can buy right now.

22) Samsung Galaxy A10 – 19,646 PV

The Samsung Galaxy A10 is a decent enough entry-level device. It has a modest screen size with a favorable display, impressive rear photo quality, acceptable selfie photo quality, good battery life, and that pretty sweet system-wide Night Mode. Although, some might not be too fond of its single rear camera, average performance, speaker placement, audio quality, frame drops during gaming, and the slow response time of the face recognition feature.

23) Huawei Y5 2019 – 19,077 PV

The Huawei Y5 2019 has its pros with its unique design, bright display, fairly competent performance, and modest battery life. However, some of the cons such as a single RAM offering, face unlock response time, average photo quality, lack of fingerprint security, outweigh the pros. However, if you’re just looking for an attractive phone for your basic needs, the Huawei Y5 2019 may be for you.

24) Realme 3 Pro – 18,873 PV

You get amazing raw performance, solid design, a decent big display, a headphone jack, and cameras that don’t just perform well in the daytime, low light performance is good too. You do get some caveats like poor speaker quality and the fact that it uses a micro USB port, I think for a starting price of PHP12,990, this can be forgiven.

25) Realme C2 – 17,565 PV

Compared to last year’s Realme C1, the C2 is definitely an upgrade. Although the battery capacity is lower than the C1’s, the C2 still has the upper hand with its smaller notch, up-to-date software, good performance, and most especially, its diamond-cut design. A couple of things though, such as the dim panel, lack of fingerprint security, and needing improvement when it comes to edge detection in portrait selfie shots will probably be a drawback for some.

And that sums it up. We thank everyone who have read our reviews in 2019 and we hope to deliver more in 2020. Cheers!



This article was written by Louie Diangson, Managing Editor of YugaTech. You can follow him at @John_Louie.

You may also like...

1 Response

  1. Paul says:

    Kind of curious how many views the iPhone 11 review got as well as the Samsung S10/Note 10 flagships.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Open

Close